Mini Berlin update: Going Vegetarian

So, it’s been a while since I posted but it’s been a busy couple of months. On leaving my job, I decided I needed to air out the old to-do list and manifesto and find what it was I’ve really wanted to do while I’m here. One of those things was to change my lifestyle, going from being at a sedentary desk job and driving all the time to walking and cycling, has really helped. The other is eating less meat.

I decided a while ago, while I was in my last job that ate too much meat and it was affecting my intestines condition. Whilst living out here I wanted to live as cheaply and thrifty as possible so I bought the cheapest meat (usually labelled ‘Hack Fleisch’, sounds delicious, right?) So I thought there has to be a way of eating cheap whilst eliminating meat – I mean, it’s an extra ingredient, so therefore, as extra cost. So I did some research and found interesting, exciting meals that taste great regardless of meat.

A meal that I cooked this week © Polly Love 2014

A meal that I cooked this week © Polly Love 2014

I soon became friends with basic affordable spices, all kinds of lentils, rice, a variety of beans and bulgar wheat. All of which are really easily obtainable wherever you are. And another key ingredient, a tiny bit of presentation goes along way, too! 😉

So armed with what’s available from my small convenience supermarket and a turkish green grocers, I attempted to cook only vegetarian food…

Here are some inspiring, tried-and-tested recipes I have recently cooked from Pinterest….

 

Harisa One-Pot with Spiced Aubergines and Eggs

image

Image and recipe from Tesco Real Food

 

Moroccan Shepherd’s Pie with Sweet Potato topping

Image and recipe from OurFourForks

Image and recipe from OurFourForks

 

Super Sweet and Savoury Avocado Salsa

Image and recipe from CookingClassy.com

 

Homemade Granola

Image and Recipe from Vivan Pang Kitchen

 

Vibrant Thai Coconut Soup 

Image and recipe from Foodcrush (Veggie version available on recipe page)

Image and recipe from Foodiecrush (Veggie version available on recipe page)

Spicy, Tangy, Hearty Green Lentil and Sweet Potato Stew 

(Image to follow, soon!)

 

Creamy Red Lentil Ragu

(aka. Bolognaise with creamy lentils instead of mince!)

Image and recipe from BBCGoodFood

Image and recipe from BBCGoodFood

Leave a comment